The Canadian Way, Eh!

I grew up in a rink. Really, I did. My Dad played Senior Hockey all through my childhood. When he finally hung up his skates, it was to coach both my brothers. So there we were, every weekend, at a rink. At times I hated it. It’s all we did all winter. But then I grew to love it. And I still do. Now my three boys play, and here I am….in a rink, every weekend, cheering them on now. It’s our way of life. It is why I don’t take on winter weddings, we’re too busy chasing our kids from rink to rink. Whenever I complain about how busy we are, My Mom always reminds me that those years of “running with her kids” were the best days of her life. And she misses it dearly, still. I try to remember that when I am faced with ten hockey games in a weekend!

My parents have eight grandsons and one granddaughter. All the boys play hockey, except for one and his excuse is that he is only one year old! But I have no doubt we’ll see him in skates next Christmas. My niece even had her first pair of hockey skates on this Christmas and I have a feeling she may love the sport as well. My brother made a gorgeous rink on his pond by his place for Christmas Eve. The kids spent hours and hours and hours out there on that rink and loved every second of it. I can’t imagine the pride my Dad felt watching all his grandsons (minus one) playing non stop all day long on Christmas Eve. I have no doubt in a few years all nine grandkids will be out there playing, and likely playing against their Grandpa!

I took my camera out and captured some of these wonderful memories on Christmas Eve. Thank you to my brother for the hours you spent getting this rink ready. The kids had an amazing time and made hours upon hours of great memories. Here are some of my favourites.

Christmas_0202

Christmas_0215

Christmas_0218

Christmas_0228

Christmas_0230

Christmas_0234

Christmas_0236

Christmas_0237

Christmas_0256

Christmas_0263

Christmas_0265

Christmas_0279

Christmas_0287

Christmas_0299

Christmas_0316

Christmas_0362

Christmas_0368Christmas_0294